We read each manufacturer's own halal statement on 28 September 2026, on their UK and Irish sites where they have one. The table below reports what each company says, in its own terms. We have not added a verdict of our own, and nothing here should be used to change a baby's feeding without advice from a health professional.
Brand by brand: what the manufacturers say
| Brand | Halal certified, per the maker | Not certified or not stated | Certifier named? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aptamil (Danone / Nutricia) | First (1) and Follow On (2), powder and ready-to-feed, all sizes. Hungry First. Advanced (1), (2) and (3). Anti-Reflux, Comfort, Lactose Free. Toddler (3) and (4) powders. Organic First Infant Milk in the 70ml and 200ml ready-to-feed formats. | Organic First, Follow On and Toddler Milk 800g powders. Toddler (3) and (4) in 200ml and 1L ready-to-drink. Pepti 1, Pepti 2 and Pepti Syneo (see below). | No. "An Islamic halal authorisation body." The list is dated June 2022. |
| Cow & Gate (Danone) | First infant milk, all powders and ready-to-feed. Hungry First. Follow-on milk, powders and ready-to-drink. Toddler milk 1 year (700g, 800g) and 2 years (800g). Anti-Reflux, Comfort, Carobel. | Toddler milk 1 year ready-to-drink cartons: 200ml, 15x200ml and 1L. All Cow & Gate baby foods. | No. "An Islamic halal authorisation body." |
| SMA (Nestlé) | The SMA range of milks, Little Steps First and Follow-on, SMA LF Lactose Free and SMA Extra Hungry (parent FAQ). The healthcare site adds the PRO, Organic and Comfort ranges, plus Alfamino and Althéra. | Anything not on those lists, such as Anti-Reflux, is "contact our Careline" (0800 081 81 80). | No. |
| Kendamil | "All of our Classic and Organic Kendamil products." Its halal collection also includes the Goat and Comfort milks. | Ready-to-feed liquids are not in the halal collection. | Yes: the Halal Food Authority (HFA). |
| HiPP Organic | No halal statement found. | Not stated. Ask the careline. | - |
| Kabrita (goat) | No halal statement found on its UK or EU site. | Not stated. Kabrita also says recipes can differ by country. | - |
| Aldi Mamia, Lidl Lupilu | No halal statement on the product pages. | Not stated. Ask the store's customer service or check the tin. | - |
A "not stated" row means the company has not published a position. It is not a finding that the milk is haram. It means the label cannot settle it and you need an answer from the maker.
The exceptions that catch people out
The brand name is the wrong thing to check. Aptamil and Cow & Gate both certify their standard milks and both have lines that are not certified, and the split follows the format and the factory rather than the recipe.
- Aptamil Organic in the big tin. The 800g Organic powders are not certified, while the small Organic ready-to-feed bottles are. Aptamil's explanation is that "some of our factories have not yet been Halal approved. This doesn't mean that the recipes are unsuitable."
- Toddler milk in cartons. Cow & Gate's toddler powder is certified and its 1 year ready-to-drink cartons are not. Aptamil's Toddler (3) and (4) are the same: powder certified, 200ml and 1L liquid not.
- Aptamil Pepti. Here the issue is the process. Nutricia's own product pages say Pepti 1, Pepti 2 and Pepti Syneo are "not suitable for vegetarians or Halal diet" because they are processed with pork trypsin, an enzyme used to break down the milk protein, even though it is not present in the finished milk.
Parents often move to ready-to-drink cartons for nursery or travel. Check the carton separately, even if you already checked the tin.
Specialist and prescription formulas
These are usually prescribed for cow's milk allergy or reflux. Do not change one without speaking to the GP, paediatrician or dietitian who prescribed it. What their makers publish:
- Aptamil Pepti 1, Pepti 2, Pepti Syneo: not suitable for a halal diet (pork trypsin in processing).
- Neocate LCP, Syneo and Junior (Nutricia): labelled "Kosher Halal Vegetarian" on the product pages. No certifier named.
- SMA Alfamino and Althéra: "Halal Certified and Suitable for vegetarians," per SMA's healthcare site.
- Nutramigen PURAMINO (Reckitt): certified halal by IFANCA, and kosher by the Orthodox Union.
- Nutramigen 1, 2 and 3 with LGG: no halal statement on the UK pages.
If your baby is on Pepti and you want a halal-certified alternative, that is exactly the question to take to the prescriber. The list above gives you the names to ask about.
Ireland
Irish searches for this topic are as common as UK ones, and the answers mostly match. Aptamil's Irish page carries the same product list as its UK page. SMA's Irish FAQ repeats the UK list, and its Irish First Infant Milk and Toddler pages print "Halal certified" on the product description. We did not find a separate Irish statement from Kendamil or Cow & Gate.
Why the tin matters more than the brand
A halal certificate is held by a product made in an audited plant. It is not a property of a brand. That is why Aptamil can certify its standard First Infant Milk and not its Organic 800g, and why a tin bought abroad or online may be made for a different market under a different certificate. The same brand name can use a different vitamin premix in another country.
Two ingredients come up in almost every parent question. Vitamin D3 is commonly made from lanolin, the grease in sheep's wool, and certifiers treat that differently. None of the manufacturers above says where its D3 comes from. DHA can come from fish oil or from algae. SMA says most of its products use micro-algae, and Kendamil says its omega-3 comes from marine algae. Lecithin and emulsifiers appear in some formulas too. A certificate covers all of these; a label reading cannot.
How to check the tin in front of you
- Find the exact product on the maker's list. Match the stage, the format (powder or liquid) and the size, not just the brand.
- Look for a halal mark on the pack. Many certified UK formulas do not print one, which is why the manufacturer lists above matter.
- Check where it was made and which market it is for. A tin imported from elsewhere may not be covered by the UK list.
- Treat "no pork" and "vegetarian" as incomplete. Pepti shows why: the pork enzyme is used in processing and never appears on the ingredient list.
- If it is not listed, ask. Use the questions below and name the product, size and country of sale.
What to ask the manufacturer
Is this exact product (name, stage, size and format) covered by a current halal certificate for sale in the UK or Ireland? Which body issued it? Is any animal-derived enzyme used in processing? What is the source of the vitamin D3 and of the DHA?
The manufacturer question generator will format that for a specific product and batch. How to check a halal certifier covers what to look for in the answer, and the mashbooh guide covers what to do while you wait.
Frequently asked questions
Is Aptamil halal?
Most of it. Aptamil's UK and Irish sites list First (1), Follow On (2), Hungry First, the Advanced range, Anti-Reflux, Comfort, Lactose Free and the Toddler (3) and (4) powders as halal certified. The Organic powders (800g) and the Toddler (3) and (4) ready-to-drink bottles are not, because the factories making them have not been halal approved.
Is Aptamil Organic halal?
Aptamil Organic First Infant Milk, Organic Follow On Milk and Organic Toddler Milk in the 800g powder are not halal certified. The small ready-to-feed Organic First Infant Milk formats are. Aptamil says this is about which factory has been approved, not the recipe.
Is Aptamil Pepti halal?
No. Nutricia describes Aptamil Pepti 1, Pepti 2 and Pepti Syneo as not suitable for a halal diet because they are processed using a pork trypsin enzyme. Pepti is a specialist formula, so talk to your GP, health visitor or dietitian about alternatives rather than switching on your own.
Is Cow & Gate halal?
Cow & Gate lists its First infant milk, Hungry First, Follow-on milk, Toddler milk powders, Anti-Reflux, Comfort and Carobel as halal certified. The Toddler milk 1 year ready-to-drink cartons (200ml, 15x200ml and 1L) are not, and none of its baby foods are.
Is SMA halal?
SMA's UK and Irish product FAQs list the SMA range of milks, Little Steps, SMA LF Lactose Free and SMA Extra Hungry as halal certified. Its healthcare site also lists the PRO, Organic and Comfort ranges, and Alfamino and Althéra. For anything not named, SMA asks you to call its Careline.
Is Kendamil halal?
Kendamil says all its Classic and Organic products are halal certified and that its halal collection is certified by the Halal Food Authority (HFA). Its ready-to-feed liquids are not in that collection, so check those with Kendamil directly.
Is HiPP Organic formula halal?
HiPP's UK pages did not make a halal statement when we checked. That is not the same as saying it is not halal. Ask HiPP's careline for the current position on the exact product.
Is formula in Ireland the same as in the UK?
For halal status, mostly yes. Aptamil's Irish page carries the same list as its UK page, and SMA's Irish FAQ matches its UK one. Tins are still made for specific markets, so the certificate that counts is the one covering the tin you bought.
Should I change formula for halal reasons?
Talk to your GP, midwife, health visitor or pharmacist first, especially if your baby is on a specialist or prescribed formula. This page tells you what manufacturers publish. It does not advise on what your baby should drink.
Sources
- Aptaclub UK: is Aptamil halal? (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Aptaclub Ireland: is Aptamil halal? (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Nutricia: Aptamil Pepti 1 product information (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Nutricia: Neocate LCP product information (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Cow & Gate: is Cow & Gate halal? (read 28 Sep 2026)
- SMA UK: product FAQ (read 28 Sep 2026)
- SMA Ireland: product FAQ (read 28 Sep 2026)
- SMA healthcare professionals: product FAQs (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Kendamil: is your product halal certified? (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Kendamil: HFA-certified halal collection (read 28 Sep 2026)
- Nutramigen: about PURAMINO (read 28 Sep 2026)
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: vitamin D